Best 28-Inch Pocket Door Kits for Quiet, Space-Saving Installation
The best 28-inch pocket door kit depends on your door’s weight, desired soft-close features, and wall requirements. EaseLife is a fit for doors up to 88 pounds and 28 inches wide; AWDIA supports a higher listed weight capacity of 200 pounds; and JUBEST’s 120-pound model offers two-way soft close. Johnson Hardware is an option for shoppers seeking a steel frame, while SongYung lists a 98-pound capacity. These are frame and hardware kits; check each product’s details because a door is not included in several options.
| Kit | Listed Door Width | Listed Capacity | Notable Feature |
|---|---|---|---|
| EaseLife | 24–28 inches | 88 pounds | Two-way soft close |
| Johnson Hardware | 28-inch frame | Not specified | Steel construction |
| AWDIA | 28-inch door; other sizes listed | 200 pounds | Two soft-close mechanisms |
| JUBEST | 24–28 inches | 120 pounds | Pine header and galvanized steel |
| SongYung | 24–28 inches | 98 pounds | Three-wheel hanger design |
EaseLife 28-Inch Pocket Door Frame Kit

Best for: Buyers who want two-way soft close and a kit specified for doors from 24 to 28 inches wide. EaseLife lists compatibility with 2×4 stud walls and door thicknesses from 1 to 1¾ inches. Its aluminum box track and quick-release locking tab are intended to support smooth movement and simplify door removal from the rail.
The stated door-weight capacity is 88 pounds. The package includes a 56-inch track, uprights for an 80-inch door, rollers, stops, and the soft-close mechanism. Choose this model if those dimensions and capacity match your door.
Limitation: The door is not included, and this is not the right choice for a door heavier than its listed 88-pound capacity.
Johnson Hardware 1500 Soft Close Frame

Best for: Shoppers prioritizing a steel frame and soft-close operation. Johnson Hardware describes this 28-by-80-inch frame as commercial grade for a 2×4 stud wall. Its listed features include robust steel construction, a soft-close mechanism, and a silver finish.
This option is a straightforward candidate when the nominal 28-inch frame size suits the project and the buyer values a steel build. It is also worth comparing with kits that publish detailed door-thickness and weight limits before choosing hardware for a specific slab.
Limitation: The supplied feature information does not state a door-weight capacity or a door-thickness range, so confirm those specifications for your intended door before purchase.
AWDIA Heavy-Duty Soft-Close Pocket Door Kit

Best for: Buyers whose priority is a higher stated door-weight capacity. AWDIA lists support for doors up to 200 pounds, two independent soft-close mechanisms, galvanized steel studs, and a reinforced aluminum track. The kit is described for standard 2×4 walls, with door thickness from 1⅜ to 1¾ inches.
AWDIA lists several door-width options, including 28 inches, and says the track can be trimmed. Its stabilizers are intended to reduce side-to-side movement. Choose it when the door is heavier than the capacities listed for the other featured kits, while checking the exact size option.
Limitation: The listing notes that trimming below 28 inches can leave room for only one soft-close mechanism. Measure before selecting or modifying the kit.
JUBEST 120-Pound Pocket Door Kit

Best for: Buyers looking for two-way soft opening and closing with a 120-pound listed capacity. This JUBEST kit fits doors 24 to 28 inches wide, 80 inches tall, and 1 to 1¾ inches thick. Its listed construction includes a one-piece pine header, galvanized steel track, and galvanized steel studs.
The track can be cut to fit a custom opening width, and the listing says the studs can be cut for a shorter door. This is a useful middle ground when an 88- or 98-pound capacity is insufficient but a 200-pound kit is unnecessary.
Limitation: Cutting components requires careful measurement and operation. Confirm the finished opening and door dimensions before modifying the frame.
SongYung 24-To-28-Inch Pocket Door Kit

Best for: Buyers who want a specified 98-pound capacity and a two-way soft-close mechanism. SongYung lists compatibility with 2×4 stud walls, door widths from 24 to 28 inches, an 80-inch door height, and door thickness from 1 to 1¾ inches. Its feature list also calls out an aluminum box track and three-wheel hanger design.
The track can be cut for a custom opening width, and the listing gives a rough-opening-width guideline of twice the door width plus one inch. Check project measurements against the kit instructions before framing.
Limitation: The stated capacity is lower than AWDIA’s 200-pound and JUBEST’s 120-pound figures, so avoid it if your door exceeds 98 pounds.
Buying Guide: How To Choose A 28-Inch Pocket Door Kit
Does the kit fit the door and wall? Check the exact door width, height, thickness, and wall-stud type. “28-inch” can refer to a frame size or one option in a range. These featured kits are generally described for 2×4 walls, but their permitted door dimensions differ.
How much weight must the hardware support? Compare the door’s actual weight with the kit’s listed limit. Among these picks, AWDIA lists 200 pounds, JUBEST lists 120 pounds, SongYung lists 98 pounds, and EaseLife lists 88 pounds. The supplied Johnson Hardware information does not specify a capacity.
Do you need soft close in both directions? Several kits list two-way soft-close operation. AWDIA describes independent mechanisms for opening and closing; EaseLife, JUBEST, and SongYung also list two-way soft close. Verify the feature on the exact model and size you select.
Is the door included? Do not assume it is. EaseLife and AWDIA explicitly state that no door is included. Review the package contents for other kits to determine whether you need to buy a door separately.
Can the kit be trimmed? Some listings describe cut-to-fit tracks or studs. Trimming may change the available soft-close configuration, so follow the product instructions and confirm the rough opening before cutting.
Frequently Asked Questions
What door width fits a 28-inch pocket door kit? It depends on the model. Several kits in this guide accept doors from 24 to 28 inches, while Johnson Hardware is described as a 28-by-80-inch frame.
Are pocket door kits sold with the door slab? Not always. EaseLife and AWDIA state that the door is not included. Check the individual product details before ordering.
What is the most important specification to check? Confirm the door’s dimensions and weight against the kit’s stated limits, then verify compatibility with the wall and rough opening.
Is soft close standard on these kits? All five products featured here list a soft-close feature, but the mechanism and supported door weight vary by model.
Can a pocket door kit be installed in an existing wall? The supplied product details do not establish whether a particular wall is suitable for retrofit installation. Check the kit instructions and assess the wall structure before beginning work.